Nova Scotia Pharmacy Practitioners Recognized for Outstanding Patient Care

Dartmouth, NS - The Pharmacy Association of Nova Scotia (PANS) marked their 40-year anniversary this past weekend at the Old Orchard Inn in beautiful Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, with an awards gala celebrating the best in pharmacy.

The Pharmacist of the Year was awarded to Dale Turner, admired for his dedication to elevating the profession of pharmacy.  Turner's work with the Community Pharmacy Anti-Coagulation Management Demonstration Project (CPAMS) makes a daily difference in his hometown of Glace Bay, NS, where healthcare access is often limited.  He exceeds the expectations of his patients whether it be educating them about their prescriptions or comforting those with serious illnesses. 

Ken Brownell from Amherst, NS, is the recipient of the Pfizer Consumer Healthcare Bowl of Hygeia Award for his tireless commitment to the community of Springhill and providing excellent patient care.  He has held positions on the PANS and Pharmasave Atlantic Regional Boards.  He is known for supporting local businesses in order to build a sustainable community.

The Pharmacy Team of the Year was awarded to Wilson's Pharmasave in Berwick, which is one of the hardest-hit communities in Nova Scotia by physician shortages.  This pharmacy team has developed a number of community outreach initiatives, such as an evening clinic to provide a wide range of services to ensure their patients receive the healthcare services they need.

The Pharmacy Technician of the Year was awarded to Faith Ryer from Barrington, NS.  Ryer is a valued advocate for pharmacy practice in her community and workplace.  She has been passionate about the profession from a young age.  After volunteering and dedicated research into the profession, she received her pharmacy technician license in 2017.

Maureen Crossman from Fall River and Rob Perry from Brooklyn both received Distinguished Service Awards for their passion and contributions to the profession.  Since 2001, Crossman has held several positions on the Board of Gateway Homes and has contributed to the development of pharmacy-related long-term care policies.  Perry served as Council President for the Nova Scotia College of Pharmacists and on committees for PANS since graduating in 1985.

Long service awards were also presented to those who have been practicing pharmacy for 25, 40 and 50 years.

Additional awards were presented to:

- Daniel Arsenault (Halifax, NS) for the Future Leader Award

- Chris Matthews (Halifax, NS) for the Certificate of Appreciation Award

PANS is proud to represent pharmacy professionals who are committed to providing excellence in healthcare in Nova Scotia.

About the Pharmacy Association of Nova Scotia

The Pharmacy Association (PANS) is the voice of pharmacists and pharmacy technicians in Nova Scotia.  Its mission is to support the professional and economic interests of its members to advance the practice of pharmacy and improve the health of Nova Scotians.

More information is available at

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Amy Wagg

Director of Communications

Pharmacy Association of Nova Scotia

Phone: (902) 422-9583 ext. 4